Writing with the Door Closed and First Draft Freedom

One of my favorite books on writing is… “On Writing” by Stephen King.  In the book he gives the following advice :

“Write with the door closed, rewrite with the door open. Your stuff starts out being just for you, in other words, but then it goes out. Once you know what the story is and get it right — as right as you can, anyway — it belongs to anyone who wants to read it. Or criticize it.”

I absolutely love that advice and this is the first time I’m actually taking it.

I’m giving myself permission to write terrible stuff.  I mean… really really terrible, but I’m writing.  I’m about 900 words into my first draft which is farther than I’ve ever gotten this fast. I have had a bad habit in the past of writing a page or so and letting my husband read it immediately as I stare at him, analyzing his every eye twitch.

This was not productive.

I obsessed over every single word, imagining how he would react to it.  Not this time.  This time I am writing with the door closed.  Figuratively, not literally.  Literally I am writing on the couch with my dog curled beside me and my husband is at his desk a few feet away playing Planetside 2.  I’m just putting the events in my outline down on paper, adding a decent line or two but it is mostly crappy description, cliches and bad character development but that is okay.  That is what the second draft is for.

The second draft is when I’ll start writing with the door open to him.  The third draft is when I’ll start letting a few others in (probably from a writing group).  It’s terrifying but the fact that I can consider it a possibility that I’ll eventually get there is fantastic!

Off to some strawberries dipped in dark chocolate cream cheese and some more writing before bedtime!

About Stacy L. Strandlien

I'm writing a horror novel. Visit my blog: stacylstrandlien.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in writing advice, yay for writing! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

